Voting tests: what do you think?

laripu

Some on both the left and the right have called for a test to determine whether someone has the right to vote. It would be something similar to a citizenship test, and I imagine administered a year before a presidential election.

And by the way, just prior to becoming a citizen in 2006, my wife I took the citizenship test. You have to get at least 60% and they keep asking questions until you do. Both my wife and I were correct on 6 questions in a row, and then they stopped. (Note: English is not my wife's first language; she's originally from Germany, and speaks English well, but with an accent. One of my questions was to name the original 13 states. I got it right because i studied, but I'm not sure I could still get it right now.)

Such a test would certainly be undemocratic. It would disenfranchise people who were functional illiterates. In many cases, those are the poorest people.

People who had time to study for the test, and had normal intelligence or better, would likely pass, but people with no time to study because of work and family obligations might fail. Blind people might have a harder time. Recent immigrants whose first language is not English would have a harder time, might fail.

Here are sample questions:

“If both the President and the Vice President can no longer serve, who becomes President?”
“There were 13 original states. Name three.”
“What is one right or freedom from the First Amendment?”
“What is freedom of religion?”
On the whole, I'm against it. What do you think?

IMO, A citizenship test is valid even though many US citizens couldn't pass it cold, because it forces applicants to familiarize themselves with American history and values. Naturally, retention fades over time. It seems more than fair to pass an applicant after 6 correct answers with ?unlimited? tries.

But requiring citizens to be tested for the right to vote? No way. The potential for partisan abuse is too high.