Sign in to follow this  
XavierOnassis

What about Historically Black Colleges and Universities?

I graduated in 1960 from high school and decided to major in Spanish, as there was a shortage of foreign language teachers and the Sputnik crisis caused the government to fund the National Defense Education Act to encourage students to become language teachers. Spanish was at that time, as now, the most popular FL taught in the US. I worked my way through college and only had to borrow about $1500 from the NDEA to get my BA in 1964. I taught HS and saved my money and eventually completed my MA and PhD. At that time (1972) the majority of the Spanish teachers and professors in the country, like myself, did not have Hispanic names.

By the time I had graduated, two huge problems regarding my employment possibilities arose: (1) the US admitted a large numbet of Cubans and began training them as Spanish teachers. and (2) the Equal Opportunities legislation required universities to give preference to Hispanics in colleges and universities, abd where better to hire them than as Spanish professors? The idea was to make up for discrimination against Mexican and Puerto Rican Americans and others who had been discriminated against in the past. Thois was a noble intention as I see it, but the result was that although I had graduated Magna cum Laude, I was passed over for teaching positions for people who had just arrived in the country from Spain, Guatemala, Chile and other Hispanic counties, many of them not citizens and unable to speak English. Teaching Spanish to English speaking students, in my opinion, requires at least some knowledge of the English language, which is in many ways grammaticly different from Spanish.